Trying out KDE4.1

KDE4.1 Desktop

KDE4.1 Desktop

In the past I have been somewhat of a Gnome fanboy, so it was with some level of trepidation today that I tried KDE4.1 and I have to say that I have been pleasantly surprised.

While it does not feel as polished as Gnome it features lots of interesting new features and many powerful applications; I am growing particularly fond of amarok as it has the best iPod support of any media player I have used and allows a lot more flexibility. While not nearly as powerful as compiz the comositing support in kwin allows some neat effects and feels faster (it might just be my imagination). I also like the power of dolphin as a file manager, it has a lot more options than nautilus.

To add KDE4.1 to an existing openSUSE 11.0 install via one-click you only need to click this button:

No comments yet

Leave a comment